*In a Nut Shell

The Kiddies

Faith keeps us laughing all the time it seems. I told you all about Papa and Jesus, that is still an ongoing situation we haven’t quite fixed. She knows better, but I think she does it on purpose now because we used to laugh about it. We have these magnetic letters on the fridge that belong to our “Word Whammer” it is a little contraption that helps identify letters and words. Faith one day discovered that her letters stick to our front door. And, right next to the front door is the garage door, and the letters stick there too! In the words of Faith, “Whoooooooa, tool!” It is tool instead of cool, I’ll take what I can get! So, after her front/garage door discovery with magnetic letters, we had a few days of letters all over them before they slowly made their way back to the fridge and Word Whammer. A couple weeks ago, I was cleaning up after lunch and Faith was playing with her letters. As I finished up with the dishes and closed the dishwasher, Faith was there to help me start it up. She ran over with a letter and some how managed to let the letter slip from her hand, it landed, and stuck to the front of the dishwasher. You should have seen her face! It was great. She couldn’t believe that her letters can stick to another surface in the kitchen. She pulled the letter off the dishwasher and kind of just stood there, thoughtfully, for a minute. I could literaly see the wheels turning in her head…”If these can stick to the front and garage doors, and the dishwasher, then I wonder…” She walked to the pantry door, put her letter to it: it fell to the ground. She scooped up the letter, walked to the bathroom door, put her letter to it: it fell to the ground. Scooped it up, walked to the coat closet, put her letter to it: it fell to the ground. Picked it up, walked to the laundry room door, put her letter to it: it fell to the ground. So, she picked up the letter, looked around the kitchen, shrugged her shoulders, and placed it back on the fridge. I could see the disappointment in her face, but totally got a kick out of the whole process of figuring out what other doors in our kitchen those letters will stick to!

She is also getting better and better with words. I am so proud of her. She actually watches our mouths when we are “showing” her how to say a new word and does her best to copy. She absolutly LOVES to play outside, especially with her Daddy ;) And her playing with Felicity still is my most favorite thing.

Felicity is 9 1/2 months old now. She has 4 upper and 2 lower teeth, an incredible appetite (eats EVERYTHING we eat and more), crawls with lightning speed, walks the furniture, and can climb up the stairs, no problem. She is so much fun to watch and play with. Again, when she and Faith get together and play a game of hide and seek, or simply just chase eachother around, I love it! Faith is really good about sharing and/or “trading” toys when Felicity has one that she’d like to play with. And, the climbing stairs thing totally surprised me, literally. On Holy Saturday, I was upstairs cleaning while Lowell was downstairs hanging out with the girls. I was in my room picking things up when suddenly appeared Felicity! She laughed and thought it was the greatest thing when I screamed at being snuck up on by my little F. I knew she must have climbed up stairs all by herself and wasn’t helped by Lowell because I didn’t hear the creaking steps under Lowell’s weight. Pretty much ever since that day, she wanders up stairs all by herself, helps herself to Faith’s room and all the toys, and when she’s ready to come back, she sits at the top and makes lots of noises and thumping sounds to get my attention so that I can rescue her. She hates to feel left out, so when Lowell is playing with Faith, she has to get in on it too, otherwise she’ll raise her voice to a loud grunt until she’s noticed. 

We have way too much fun with our kids! :)

Our little unborn baby is 9 weeks along.  Baby is about one inch from crown to rump – or roughly the size of a strawberry. Weighing in at one gram, our baby is very active, although I can’t feel its movements yet. He or she now has all the major organs, muscles, and nerves; and a Doppler may be able to identify the heartbeat. While his or her testes or ovaries are formed, the external genitalia still appear sexless, which is why it is too early for an ultrasound to reveal its gender. Eyelids are beginning to form and the trunk is straightening and elongating, cartilage and bones are forming, the basic structures of the eyes are in place, and the tongue is beginning to develop. The fingers and thumb are visible, albeit short and webbed.

I went and had my first intial visit yesterday, just got all the paperwork and blood out of the way. Next week is the actual OB visit and hopefully ultrasound! We are both anxious to see our little one :) Feeling pretty good for the most part. I have reached the peek point of feeling blah, but expect to be passed it by the end of my tenth week, and completely pulled through by 13-14 weeks.

2 thoughts on “The Kiddies

Leave a Reply

