*Holiday Stories

Happy Mother’s Day

When Mother Prayed

Somehow God always seemed so real,
Somehow I could not doubt nor feel
That God was ever far away,
When I could hear my mother pray;
Somehow when she would kneel in prayer,
God always seemed to meet her there.

When she would kneel beside my bed,
With her dear hands upon my head,
My little heart would cease to fear,
And God would seem to come so near;
Somehow, someway, when Mother prayed,
I could not, dared not, feel afraid.

And when she prayed for Him to keep
Me through the night, and give me sleep
And rest until the break of day,
I felt that it must be, someway;
That round about me was His arm,
And He could keep me safe from harm.

When Mother prayed! O precious hour,
When God would come in mighty power!
O memory sweet! O hallowed place
Where God did shine in Mother’s face!
Somehow in prayer she found such rest;
Somehow her soul God always blest.

When Mother prayed! Ah, then I knew
Within my soul that God is true;
I could no longer doubt His love;
And, yielding all, born from above,
My soul was filled with peace divine,
And Mother’s God was thenceforth mine.
[Melville Miller]

Happy Mother’s Day, ladies! I hope it was a beautiful day for you :) I offered my rosary for each of the Mothers I know last night.

We had a very low key day. Went to Latin Mass at noon, then I was treated to a tastey lunch, and spent the rest of the afternoon and evening with my amazing hubby and sweet girls.  

“The most important person on earth is a mother.  She cannot claim the honor of having built Notre Dame cathedral.  She need not.  She has built something more magnificent than any cathedral—a dwelling for an immortal soul, the tiny perfection of her baby’s body…The angels have not been blessed with such a grace.  They cannot share in God’s creative miracle to bring new saints to Heaven.  Only a human mother can.  Mothers are closer to God the Creator than any other creature; God joins forces with mothers in performing this act of creation…What on God’s good earth is more glorious than this, to be a mother?” -Joseph Cardinal Mindszenty

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

