*Random Goodness

Five Years Ago

Five years ago, on the Feast of The Epiphany, January 6th, I flew from San Diego airport to LAX to Honolulu, Hawaii to help out a woman, whom I’d never met, with her five kids while her husband was deployed.

Fr. Chrysostom’s sister, Rachel, was in need of a hand. All of the family had donated some time and talent, but more was needed. I certainly hope I was helpful to her. I was going through an interesting time in my life during that time, and looking back I wonder if it affected my usefulness. I remember loving her kids, and being impressed with how much they knew and how much they were all involved with other families, sports, ballet, and even piano.

I was gone for about 2 weeks. I learned alot about family, staying close with your spouse, even when he is thousands of miles away, and that it is possible to do LOADS of stuff/activities and remain calm, cool, and collected. Even though I come from a large family, there was something MORE to be learned about how a home functions. I took with me some things that I really liked about the way their family operated and plan to incorporate it into my little fam as the kids get older.

Thank you, Rachel, for the experience and the lessons taught. And, thank you, Fr. Chrysostom, for requesting/pushing me to go … I’m sure he had alterior motives to my going. He knew I needed some shaping up (he was my spiritual director at the time.). As nervous I was about embarking on a journey to a new place, to stay with a family I’d never met before, I’m so glad I did it! Now, if during that trip, somebody would have told me that in five years I’d be married, have a Sailor husband, live in FREEZING New York, and have 3 adorable kids, there’s a 99% chance I would NOT have believed it. It’s amazing how much changes in such a small period of time :)

Leave a Reply

