*In a Nut Shell

Baby News

It’s not what you think… I mean, George is still the baby and the “news” is what he is up to these days ;)

George turns 6 months today. I find it so hard to believe that six months ago I was giving birth to him! It seems like a hundred years ago, but just like yesterday at the same time. He is the spitting image of his daddy, weighs 16 pounds, and is 24.5 inches long. He rolls EVERYWHERE: The other day, he rolled across the floor just to get to me. He has the right idea for crawling. He knows how to use his arms to pull him places and he knows how to get up on his knees, but he doesn’t know how to put them together and make himself fully mobile…yet. He is a scooter, though, in his own little, uncoordinated way. Teeth? Not yet, but they’re getting pretty close to popping. Solids? He says “no thank you” to them by way of comical facial expressions. It is his absolute ZERO interest in anything, other than nursing, that makes him the most different from his big sissies at this age. I am still trying for solids as he is getting older and is going to start needing more than just what I can offer. So, every couple of days, we try rice cereal again. He isn’t entirely offended when I give him some of my banana mushed up, or a bit of my green beans, or even some of my oatmeal in the morning. After we finish “choking down” this box of rice cereal we’ve been working on, I’m going to try something else. I thought for sure he’d like this stuff because it’s the mixed fruit kind. Hmm. Oh well.

In other baby news, Faith is completely potty trained. HOORAY! I decided on April 30 that I was going to make May “Potty Month.” Then, when May1st came, I decided potty month would start on a Monday. So, on the 3rd, she was put into panties after she woke up, and 3 days and 5 (pee) accidents later, I was finally down to two in diapers :) I put her in pull ups at night, but she wakes up dry. Now, my next mission is to wean her off of getting candy rewards each and every time she goes. I have been able to get it down to “I’ll give you some potty candy after lunch/dinner” and she’s pretty willing to work with that. I think the next step is to get rid of the candy!

Felicity is liking the idea of going potty, but I don’t think she’s quite ready. I might try and push for it during the summer. We’ll see. She is such a cute little kid! She speaks super well and absolutly adores Faith & George. She does have a bit of a ‘tude that you can’t ever get mad at because she’s so funny when she’s doing it!

I just love my kids! ♥

Leave a Reply

