*Operation Get Healthy

Ready to Burn With Me?

That’s right, BURN! Burn the fat and calories and turn it into energy and looking…better than before! ;)

I don’t need to lose alot, but I need to lose enough to get me motivated and to start exercising to STAY exercising. I have this nagging feeling, calling from somewhere, that it is TIME to get real and get physical. I need to be ready for if/when God sends blessing #4, not to mention it’d be nice to feel comfortable in my skin again.

So, I have been reading about weightloss, the do’s and don’t’s, how to do it while breastfeeding and NOT have it change my supply of breastmilk.

*I found that you shouldn’t lose more than 2 pounds a week. That’s actually true for everyone, whether they are breastfeeding or not.

*Weight loss is a simple equation; you need to burn more calories than you take in. It is possible to make modest changes in your diet and activity and lose an easy two pounds a week. While this may not seem like much, this equates up to nearly ten pounds every month. Using this method, the pounds you lose will be pounds of fat, as opposed to water weight.

*Do the math and understand the weight loss equation; one pound is equal to 3,500 calories. This means a caloric deficiency of 3,500 calories results in one lost pound. Here is an example of the math of losing 2 pounds a week:
To create a 1,000 calorie/day deficiency:
-Subtract 500 calories from your daily food intake.
-Burn 500 calories through exercise.
This leaves you with a shortage of 1,000 calories per day. Doing this 7 days a week sums up to a deficit of 7,000 calories which equals 2 lost pounds each week. – Ta duh!!! :)

*Burning 500 calories can be done without too much effort. Cleaning house, chasing kids, making extra trips up and down the stairs, going for walks, etc. But that is an Over A Period of Time effort. I want to do that in addition to a “real” workout. So, I am going to get a workout game for my Wii and/or go to the Y, when Lowell is home, and ride a bike for 20-30 minutes. Work to build muscle. I read women tend to shy away from this when they are trying to slim down to a smaller size, but adding muscle to your frame actually helps your body to burn fat more efficiently, even when it is resting. It also shapes and tones the body for a better appearance after a drop in weight.

*Find the source of excess calories in your diet, and identify your empty calories (foods that are nutritionally null and void). Then, REMOVE them from your diet.
-You don’t have to starve yourself to create a calorie deficit; you can actually eat a larger quantity of food, it just needs to be healthy.
-Instead of 2-3 meals, eat 3 smaller meals with snacks between. Your body will be less likely to go into “starvation mode” if you are eating small amounts throughout the day. 
-Decrease your fat intake to 20-25% or less of total calories; keep your protein intake up to prevent loss of muscle mass. 
-If you look at the Weight Watcher’s diet for lactation, it’s all about complex carb loading. On one website, a woman said it’s one of the most successful long-term lactation weight loss programs for women as it helps them lose weight without sacrificing milk production. Complex carbs include:

-Vegetables such as broccoli, cauliflower, bell peppers, squash, and beans
Fruits such as apples, berries, plums, oranges, peaches, and melons
Whole grains such as whole-wheat bread, rye bread, and brown rice

*Drink lots of water. Water not only gives you a slight bump in caloric burn, it also helps you eat less and it curbs your cravings. Staying properly hydrated will also give you more energy to complete those daily workouts. My Mom was recently telling me that people who diet and don’t drink enough water aren’t going to get anywhere because you NEED extra water to flush out the fat. Everything I read about high-protein diets really stressed the importance of water because too much protein can dehydrate you. So, I imagine if you are breastfeeding, dieting/Atkins, and exercising, you’ll be looking like a water balloon, just like me! ;)

So, I read you need to set goals of how much you want to lose and/or achieve as far as exercising goes. But, I just want to lose 2 pounds a week and get real active again. I am going to make a daily cut in food calories:
-NO SNACKING, unless I need to due to low blood sugar, then I will eat a piece of fruit.
-MORE SALAD, FEWER BAD CARBS and MORE COMPLEX CARBS

And, I am going to start exercising. I am going to do more up and down the stairs, going to go to the Y atleast 3 times a week, and I am going to find a weight loss game for my Wii. Maybe a Wii Fit?

My new plan is going to start tomorrow. So, I will keep you posted on whether or not I lose two pounds in my first week! Wish me luck!!!

Leave a Reply

