*In a Nut Shell

The Wiggle Baby

Happy feast day!

St John Paul II & St John XXIII
St John Paul II & St John XXIII

Today is one of our favorite feasts, The Feast of Divine Mercy. It has added importance this year with the canonization of Pope John Paul II to sainthood (along with Pope John XXIII). As most of you know, Karolina was named after JPII and was also named Mercy after Our Lady of Divine Mercy and John Paul’s devotion to Divine Mercy. And, on top of these beautiful things, Karolina celebrates 6 months of life outside the womb!

In her six months, she is the proud owner of two teeth, is army crawling around (and occasionally still rolls to her destinations ;), and is eating some solids. She isn’t partaking in all of our meals, or eating vast quantities, but she is dabbling in tastes of all things soft, and fruity. She loves the outdoors and watching the chickens and dogs running around. And, she loves to do everything the big kids are doing. If they’re playing with Lego’s or stuffed animals on the floor, she wants to play too. If they are playing up at the train table, she wants to be in the walker watching their games. And, if they are sitting at the table coloring, eating, or doing school, she wants to be in her highchair, at their level. She loves and admires Phillip the most, I think. He is still the only one who doesn’t have to try to make her burst out in laughter over silly things. He likes to dote on her, too. He likes to feed her as well. The other day, I came in to find he’d helped himself to a string cheese and proceeded to give a quarter of it to Karolina. He proudly boasted he was sharing! Yes, thank you, Phillip.

Playing with the big kids
Playing with the big kids
Such a happy, smiley baby <3
Such a happy, smiley baby <3

She also got her first hair cut! She was looking a lot like this all the time…

That Hair!!
That Hair!!

Which happened to remind us a lot of this…

The Little Nuns
The Little Nuns

She really is so grown up in her 6 months and continues to impress me every day. Maybe it’s that she wants to keep up with the big kids? Whatever it is, I am excited for her self discoveries, her determination to make things happen, and her way of communicating. I swear she can say “Hi” and she even tries to wave or give a high-five! which is a pretty popular greeting around here.

6 months
6 months

It has been the most educational 6 months of motherhood for me. It finally became super crazy and busy after giving birth to Karolina. The added number of babies wasn’t overwhelming, but for some reason my life in general has seemed overwhelming. Does that make sense? Perhaps with homeschooling, it added to the mix at the birth of #5, and just made for more to juggle. I love my vocation, but wow it can be crazy! Not the kind of crazy you see in all the movies that show chaos as the main theme in a large family, but just crazy in how much there is to do and straightening out your priorities and keeping them in their proper order. The only time I ever feel like it’s too hard, or I need a break, is when I am putting myself above everyone else. I always seem to forget that once everyone else’s needs are met and taken care of with love, that my time is often abundant. So much so that I start to wonder what to do with myself! But, I still find myself running around wondering when I might catch a quick break in my day. Why do we do that to ourselves? “Let go and let God, Joanna, let go and let God.” I often tell people, when they wonder where I’ve been hiding due to not getting out or picking up the phone to call, that my life is not my own. The less it is mine, the more I love it, though! Random, but appropriate match to my thoughts, is today’s Catechism Reflection:

Life in Christ: Catechism #2228

Parents’ respect and affection are expressed by the care and attention they devote to bringing up their young children and providing for their physical and spiritual needs. As the children grow up, the same respect and devotion lead parents to educate them in the right use of their reason and freedom.

God’s blessing us with our little Mercy baby, or The Wiggle Baby, as the girls call her, has been so fruitful in all it’s little bits of crazy.

Happy Six Months, little miss! xoxo

One thought on “The Wiggle Baby

Leave a Reply

