*In a Nut Shell

Knock, knock

I don’t have many regrets in my life. Actually, I think I only have one: Telling my kids a knock, knock joke.

A few months ago, I told my kids two knock, knock jokes. The two most common ones.

Knock, knock. Who’s there? Boo. Boo Who? Sorry to make you cry!
Knock, knock. Who’s there? Banana. Banana Who?….Orange. Orange Who? Orange you glad I didn’t say banana?

Since this fateful day, my door has been knocked on at least twelve hundred times a day and who is there never. makes. sense. There is no play on words. It’s just.. painful after a while. haha!

Knock, knock. Who’s there? Grass. Grass who? The cows and chickens are very hungry!
Knock, knock. Who’s there? Sandwich. Sandwich who? You’re a sandwich!
Knock, knock. Who’s there? Paint. Paint who? The paint that comes from a tree!

One day, not long ago, I decided nobody was home after I allotted myself 5 knock, knocks from each kid.

Knock, knock. Nobody’s home.

It is a trend some of the kids have picked up on when they are sick of asking Who’s there? every eight seconds. Usually, whomever it is that’s knocking will continue go around knocking until someone answers.

Until today.

At lunch, Phillip reached his Mom quota, so moved on to Faith. Nobody was home. Felicity. Nobody was home. George. Nobody was home. Not even Karolina was home! So he said, “Okay, Me! Knock, knock. Who’s there? I am and nobody else is!” I couldn’t help but laugh at his little self. Well, not at him, but with him.

Who thinks to ask themselves a knock, knock joke?! :)

Taken yesterday. spring mud parties are already in full swing over here!
Taken yesterday. spring mud parties are already in full swing over here!
4 thoughts on “Knock, knock

  1. Awesome! My kids will just say random things go and start laughing. “Green rocks, hahahaha” usually proceeded by a “mama mama mama I have a funny story.” I finally had to sit them all down and explain the difference between something funny/silly/clever and what is straight up annoying. They have improved. The little dears.

    Like

    1. The little dears… :) haha! I have had this same talk with my kids, but it just doesn’t compute. Well, it computes for the initial hour, but then gets eaten up by a genetic virus called “We are Lowell’s offspring” and all these random, nonsensical, and hysterical(???), little things come creeping back. I will admit that, at that point, it is hard to be entirely annoyed when miniature husbands are giggling in front of you ;)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes! those jokes…ahhh! is right :) I have taken to calling them a “plague of knocks” when I have heard MORE than enough knocking in one hour. I love little kids innocence, and I keep smiling, and even laughing, as I think back on them. But. Always in the moment. I can’t handle the extended nonsense.

    Like

Leave a Reply

