*Operation Get Healthy

Free Money {part 2}

I am back to share my favorite smartphone apps for making extra money doing things I already do.

•The first one is a no brainer. It’s called Receipt Hog. The only thing you have to do is download, share some basic info about yourself, and start snapping pictures of receipts. Any receipts you acquired in the past two weeks. Groceries, gas, shopping, hardware store, convenience store. As long as it has a date, store name, and a detailed summary of what was purchased for how much, you will earn.

The earning done with the Hog is via coins. You scan your receipts and earn coins and some receipts will earn you a spin(s) on the Hog Slots. The Hog Slots will earn you more coins, or other variations of potential bonuses like your last shopping receipt handed back to you. The breakdown is as follows with the coins: 1000=$5, 1800=$10, 3200=$20, or 4500=$30. You can receive your money via paypal deposit or an Amazon gift card.

I am very close to my first 1000 coins, but am going to try to hold out and get more than $5. I simply LOVE this app! We all collect receipts, it sure doesn’t hurt to get paid for them, right? And, in addition to my random receipts, I get to scan all of Lowell’s receipts too. Since he is out and about all day most days, you can be sure he has brought lots home.

If you decide to download and take part in this free money endeavor with Receipt Hog app, please make sure you add my referral code: SNOH6313.

•The second app, and another no brainer, is the Walmart app. You can shop, refill prescriptions, etc. But, the part I love is their Savings Catcher. You scan your Walmart receipt and it will scan local top competitors stores for the same/similar items you purchased be it groceries, clothes or accessories, or whatever other items you can possibly purchase. If there is a better deal found, it will refund the difference to your account. You can then cash out via a Walmart gift card or Blue Bird which is basically an affiliate of American Express. There is no minimum required within this app. One day, I ran to Walmart for some groceries to get me by until the next pay period. I got home and scanned my $12 receipt and ended up getting almost a dollar back in savings! Then, you go and scan it into your Receipt Hog and double dip in the earnings!

•The third app I use often is called shopkick. Shopkick will reward you with kicks for simply walking in to various stores. Most grocery stores like Costco, Aldi, H-E-B, Kroger/Albertsons, Sam’s Club, Total Wines, Trader Joe’s, Walmart, Winn Dixie, Tom Thumb, and Whole Foods. Most stores will give you 30-35 kicks for simply walking in, and sometimes they’ll have special scans where you can scan say a Coca Cola product or a General Mills cereal to collect more kicks. If you link up a credit card to your shopkick account, some stores will reward you with 1 kick per dollar spent, and you can earn extra kicks in some stores for purchasing a special item. Like last month, I was rewarded over 200 kicks on a trip to Costco for walking in, scanning a few things, and buying a particular bottle of wine that was Shopkick’s special item.

It is real simple to stock up on kicks by doing your usual trips to town for groceries or shopping. The most common stores that have something to offer are: Aerie, American Eagle, Anthropologie, Banana Republic, Bath and Body Works, Bed Bath & Beyond, Best Buy, BJ’s Wholesale Club, Carter’s, Crate & Barrel, CVS, Disney Store, Forever 21, GAP, Gymboree, Home Depot, J. Crew, JCPenny, Kohl’s, Macy’s, Old Navy, OshKosh B’Gosh, Pier 1 Imports, Publix, Sam’s Club, Sears/Sears Outlet, Sony, Sports Authority, Staples, Stop And Shop, Target, ToysRus, Urban Outfitters, Victoria’s Secret, Walgreens, and Wet Seal. But, if you download the app for yourself, it’ll open and tell you what stores nearby are available with kicks for you.

I have taken a trip to the mall to simply walk around and collect kicks for just walking in, checking deals, and making any scans I can make. Every few weeks, a handful of stores will have specials where you can earn as much as 100 Walk-In kicks, or other similar kick promotions. And, every day, if you open the app, it will award you 1-2 surprise kicks. You can also earn surprise kicks by browsing product “books” and watching videos they occasionally slip in to advertise some new product. For instance, I watched 3 thirty second videos advertising some new men’s product from Axe and earned 10 kicks each video.

I love this app because I earn kicks, that will translate to gift cards, by simply doing my usual grocery runs or infrequent shopping trips. You can cash out 500 kicks for $2 gift cards to stores like Walmart and Target, or 1250 kicks for a $5 gift cards to Starbucks, TJ Maxx/Marshalls/HomeGoods, Old Navy, Lowe’s, Barnes & Noble, Cheesecake Factory, and Papa John’s. Again, it all depends on where you live, what the popular stores are, and what the promos and deals worked out with said stores and shopkick.

Basically, you earn $1 per 250 kicks. So, 500=$2, 1250=$5, 2500=$10, 3750=$15, 6250=$25, etc. So although you aren’t receiving actual cash, you are earning a little spending money for a favorite spot and all for just going places you typically go. So, if you want in on this fun action, and want to earn 100 free kicks for each of us, please use my referral link!

•Finally, the last on my fav list is called iBotta. iBotta is basically couponing. What I do when I complete my grocery list, I browse iBotta for all the promos it has going on. If there is an item like bread, milk, and eggs, that I am already going to purchase, I click to unlock the deal and will receive anywhere from $0.25-$1.00+ for buying each item. Sometimes you are required to by specific name brands and will get more for it, but I always opt for the “any brand” when I can, especially for my trips to Costco. Make sure you read the fine print because sometimes the eggs promo will literally only cover a dozen eggs and not 18 or more. I haven’t noticed a penalty for unlocking a deal and forgetting to use it, so unlock what you need/want! All you need to do when you get home from shopping is scan the product(s) barcode and then your receipt. In less than 24 hours, you will have money sitting in your iBotta account.

I have earned almost $20 just in purchasing the things I typically purchase on my usual grocery runs! You can cash out via paypal or Best Buy, amazon, Sephora, iTunes, Express, and Regal gift cards in increments of $20, or you ca get a Starbucks or Walmart gift card in increments of $25.

If you take a leap and use this app, please use this referral link or simply use this code (ijtdbev) if you do it straight from your app store. If you do this, I will get $5 for you signing up and when you confirm your first purchase within 30 days, you will earn an additional $10.

So there you have it! All my favorite, free money apps. Like I said before, I love these because it requires no extra work on my part. Except maybe opening my phone for shopkick to register my location, and the scanning of receipts. But really, is it that difficult? Let me know if you have any questions or if you would like me to email or text you directly with my referral codes.

 

One thought on “Free Money {part 2}

Leave a Reply

