*In a Nut Shell

Advent & St. Nicholas 2016

Happy feast day, friends!

Dec 3, 2016

My kids left letters to St. Nick that were replaced with goodies in their boots last night.

I think they think Santa won the Mega Millions this summer. Or maybe they’re just getting older so want older people things?

Phillip asked for an iPad. George asked for a remote control helicopter. And Felicity asked for a digital camera. Faith wants a deluxe art set, which isn’t too bad, but still! The boys each had a practical wish: Phillip asked for a diffuser and George asked for a sample bottle of lavender essential oil.

As I mentioned on instagram earlier, I did not take any pictures of my kids’ loaded boots last night. 

What I didn’t mention was that it was a deliberate, conscious decision.

I don’t share alot on my social media outlet, but I have decided that some things still are and should be precious to just our family. 

True: who cares about boots full of booty? 

But, as much as I enjoy seeing others pics and warm messages about their family’s traditions, I can’t help but feel the competition in it. 

AmIright? 

This Advent has been a time of being a smart mom. Pulling myself further away from my dumbphone, see what I did there?, to be more present in the here and now. 

Sure, a picture of a precious moment to share with Lowell or my BFF, grandparents, aunts, or respective godparents would be missed, but I am not capable of simply touching “Send” and calling it good 100% of the time.

Not that I am even 100% perfect when it comes to capturing moments in the moment in the first place! 

I like being detached from my phone and am a better mom for it. And making it even easier is my speaker is shot so I miss texts and phone calls all the time unless I already have phone in hand for whatever the reason.

Annoying to Lowell who likes to make sure we are alive while he’s gone; great for my Mission of Motherhood.

Aside from less technology, as I tap away on the blog, we are taking it easy as we step through Advent into Christmas this year by waiting until Gaudete weekend to deck the halls. We did pull out the Advent wreath and our Elf on the Shelf, Louis, arrived a day late to do his behavior monitoring so he can report to St Nicholas who then reports to Baby Jesus to let Him know who is deserving of His generosity as He shares His birthday gifts each year. 

Louis is mischievous too. last night, he robbed some treats from the kids’ boots and hunkered in a tissue box with it. 

St Nick ran out of candy canes and chocolate coins by the time he got to our house…
5 thoughts on “Advent & St. Nicholas 2016

  1. The all looks so big! Happy Advent, Schaper Family!

    On Tue, Dec 6, 2016 at 3:26 PM, The Lowell Schaper’s wrote:

    > Joanna posted: “Happy feast day, friends! My kids left letters to St. Nick > that were replaced with goodies in their boots last night. I think they > think Santa won the Mega Millions this summer. Or maybe they’re just > getting older so want older people things? Phillip” >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love it! And love you all. So much. They all look so grown up. And I totally lol’d at your “dumbphone”. It’s the truth though. Happy St Nicholas Feast Day and Happy Advent. I miss you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

