*In a Nut Shell

Mostly Mom Musings

I don’t know what I have been doing with myself.

I am so busy with my little, and not so little, people, but we don’t do anything. Just life and all the small things that fill up our time that is our every day.

The kids are going to be out of school a week from today. We basically have 4 days left and then… Heaven help me. 

Mothering many small kids is hard for its own reasons:

  • Minimal abilities to communicate
  • Diaper changing
  • No consistent help
  • Just always being the It Man 

But, mothering a mixture of older and still some smaller kids has brought all new difficulties:

  • Whining
  • Fighting
  • Teasing/torturing younger siblings
  • Complaining
  • Diaper changing
  • No consistent help
  • Still mostly the It Man 

I really do my best to let my kids be kids. Enjoy kid things. What I ask of them is so minimal:

  • Keep clothes, shoes, trash off bedroom floor
  • Clean entire bedroom on Tuesday & Friday
  • Help keep front bathroom and living room tidy
  • Do chores twice a day

However, the annoying face of helping-out-reality is … You should see their bedrooms! Actually, I take that back. Stay home! And, getting them to do their chores or helping keep things tidy?

I laugh. 

And look for a bottle of wine.

Now, I am not a white glove perfectionist. I do have OCD, though. If I go to bed and have to wake up to a sink of dishes, or an overflowing trash can, my whole day is off. 

So, I let my kids play. Doing kid things they enjoy. I let little things hang around because they’re kids and have short attention spans so will most likely be back in 10 minutes to play again. 

My home looks lived in to be sure.

But, when it’s time to wrap it all up; Pick up, clean up, jammies, rosary, go-to-bed. Nothing happens. Nothing. Well, the rosary and jammies do. Then they all hustle off to dream land while I am left dealing with their crap and not-finished-chores.

How have I let it slip through the cracks? How do they get away with not doing so many things? How do I miss it while they’re awake? How do I instruct responsibility and accountability while trying to encourage enjoying childhood?

These are the things I ponder as I type away while Faith reads Romeo and Juliet to me for homework, and everybody else is playing in the yard on this peaceful evening.

I suppose there will be a great change when we are on summer vacation and the evenings arent stretched so thin between dinner and bed. I will re-establish the law and set up new routines that will hopefully transition smoothly into the next school year.

Surely I will at least find the new balance in being teacher of basic life skills and mothering a crop of older kids to the best of my abilities.

Motherhood is not for the faint of heart nor the weary. God bless mothers everywhere. Twice!

P.S. I posted a video of my kids being mostly cute on Instagram earlier. When I was chowing a cover for it, I happened to capture thee funniest shot:

P.P.S. I am still trying to get a Dexcom CGM. After 2 months of this, our insurance company informed us that we can’t go through their mail order prescription company but through a Durable Medical Equipment (DME) vendor. So, we are at negative step 23 and attempting yet again to get things going. Why they couldn’t tell us this from the beginning, or during all of the appeals we’ve been through, is beyond me. Please continue to keep us in your prayers ;)

4 thoughts on “Mostly Mom Musings

  1. Gah, always asking for prayers! So needy!
    But seriously, You always are๐Ÿ˜˜
    Also, preach it! I am not so much dreading summer as much as I am DREADING summer vacation. What gets me is the transition. BUT I might have a grip on it this year ( at least I have a plan) I will let you know if actually happens or if God just looked at my white board and laughs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ๐Ÿ˜† soooo needy! Thanks for praying for my never ending CGM whines. You’d think insurance would be sick of me too ๐Ÿค”
      And yes, vacation… is not going to be very vacation-y at all. God shouldn’t laugh at your white boards; as long as you have good spirit about it. (Something I need to work REALLY hard on after these past few weeks! ๐Ÿ˜)

      Like

  2. Oh man– and here I was looking forward to when the girls are older and finally able to start helping consistently with the house!!! ๐Ÿ˜› I was pretty much planning on making Lucy and Lena take over dinner dishes when they are about 10/9 respectively! HAHA Sigh. Well, I at
    least hope our intense hounding of them now (with tiny tasks like clearing their place, putting toys away and putting dirty clothes in hampers) is somewhat helpful and pays off in a few years, but we shall see!! T feels like just the training and getting them to do the jobs is its own full time job for the mom, on top of everything else! ๐Ÿคฆโ€โ™€๏ธ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Training kids up is quite a job! And, to be fair, my kids have been working on/at chores since they were pint size, and were doing pretty well with our weekly schedules and chore rotation. Even Karolina helps with table and dishes chores. But, ever since my seizure things have just collapsed. Sigh. Hence my hopes of getting a fresh grip on summer vacation and getting things to a place where going to school and having homework won’t inhibit their responsibilities. ๐Ÿ˜“๐Ÿ˜

      Like

Leave a Reply

