*In a Nut Shell

This and That

Here we are in August!

Per the usual I have no idea where the days disappear to so quickly. 

-We did our reading round up and wrapped up the summer reading program at our local library. 

– We are all done with summer school and are back to our usual summer vibes and adventures. Kids are thrilled!

-Last week, out of nowhere I got sick. I woke up Thursday morning unable to speak or swallow. I went to the doctor and they said there was nothing wrong with me and that I should just ride it out. I spent all of Thursday and Friday in the most excruciating pain, still unable to talk or swallow. On Saturday morning, my tonsils were white and oozing puss. Finally got a diagnosis of strep, got a shot, and got 2 prescriptions. Doctor said it was a bad case. I have been able to keep the kids well with Vitamin C, probiotics, oils, ACV, and some colloidal silver that my wonderful friend brought by for us. If we make it to Friday with no sickness, we will be in the clear – yay!

– A few weeks ago, we spent an afternoon at Lowell’s sister’s house mowing and chopping humongous trees and doing a bit of housework. Somehow, somewhere during that time, Lowell got into poison oak and broke out in a horrendous rash and is still slowly recovering. He got a brown recluse spider bite a few days before that, too! Poor guy. 

-Speaking of Lowell, he is in business for himself now! He is so busy and so happy since this transition started back in May. He has been blessed with amazing men to work with and partner up with, and is getting so many jobs! His company is called Blue Pelican Construction, blue for Our Lady and the Pelican is a symbol of the Eucharist as a pelican will tear at it’s own flesh to feed it’s young if food can’t be found. I have been spending alot of time developing the website, so please be patient as you click around.

-A random bit, but our local radio stations have been playing a commercial with this catchy tune that makes my kids giggle every time it comes on. Speakers up! You’re welcome!

-I have inhaled a few books in the last 3 weeks. I read The Living Wood by Louis de Wohl, The Awakening of Miss Prim by Natalie Sanmartin Fenollera, and Room by Emma Donoghue. I have 4 more on my immediate next read. Anna Karenina, The Light Between Oceans, Arms of Love, and Respectable Sins. I have a handful of others that have been waiting for me on my shelf. Once I read those, I have a few titles I’ve screen shot from InstaFriends that I will probably borrow from the library.

-It is raining today. A nice, long, steady rain. I’ve been jonesing for a good rain! Thank You, Jesus! It’s a nice reprieve and great excuse to just relax. Especially after yesterday! Yesterday, I went through my kids’ rooms and got rid of a diaper box & 4 trash bags of trash/broken toys, and 2 giveaway bags of clothes & shoes. I knocked it out in 4 hours, and my whole house suffered for it, but it is quite refreshing. Everybody fended for themselves for dinner, I picked up the random chaos, then the kids went for a swim while I sipped wine.

-I recently started watching Poldark on Amazon Prime. I am so in love! And, i have tapped into my brother’s Vudu account and have been enjoying movies on there with my kids. When I finish Poldark, I am going to watch The Hobbit trilogy. Because, the Hobbit is my fav and I still haven’t seen them All!

-Have you heard of PopSockets? If you have, I congratulate your hipster status! I had never heard of them until yesterday when my friend posted on Instagram about my goddaughter getting her one. I had to go and Google it. Thanks for helping me not feel too old, Google!

I hope all of your This’es and That’s of late have been as random as mine! ;) It is all too wonderful to be reminded of not being alone in this adventure we call life with a large family.

