*Operation Get Healthy

Diabetic Alert Dog here we come!

I have an exciting update!

We are on the list for my dog and are going through Diabetic Alert Dogs of America :) 

God willing, they’ll find a match for me soon and begin the training process. We probably won’t get him until after Christmas, but that’s a good thing as we want him to be well trained.

None of this would be remotely possible without the generosity of our family and friends. We still have about half the funds more to raise, but atleast things are in forward motion now! :)

I’ve said thank you many times already, but I really and truly thank you from the bottom of my heart for helping our family in this way. 

I got my EEG results earlier this week and all was clear without the slightest abnormalities. She said I wouldn’t need to go on meds or return to see her for any follow ups down the road.

Now, we are working with the orthopedic doctor’s office in getting approval for shoulder surgery from our insurance company as they denied the first request that was submitted. Apparently, shattered, stretched, and torn shoulders aren’t deemed medically necessary. Who knew? 

Seriously!

And, I am going to get my Dexcom continuous glucose monitor in the next few weeks. The Dexcom is one that fellow T1D’s have been telling me about for a long time now. I chose it because it can communicate with other devices. This means Lowell will be able to keep tabs on how I am doing while he is at work. 

I am looking at getting a Pebble Time Steel Smartwatch for myself so I can easily track what’s happening without having to stare at my phone all the time. But! One purchase at a time.

Have a great weekend, everybody! Thanks for reading along with me on this newness of our life’s adventures.

4 thoughts on “Diabetic Alert Dog here we come!

Leave a comment